The Carved Crucifix

This is the follow up and last installment of the prior post , Fix some Cracks…

Here I’ll do a quick recap showing the body and then continue on with the last items to be made for the Crucifix.

I had to make the nails for the hands and feet. Being that there were some rather large holes there I decided to use hex head bolts, counter sink the heads into a piece of wood and epoxy the bolt and a washer to the underside of the piece of wood. My reasoning is the washer will take any load better than a glued piece of wood, even though these aren’t holding the body to the Cross.

I didn’t show the process of making the Cross but it’s made from Mahogany. I used two boards 1″ thick X  7″ wide for the face. To make it appear as if it’s a thicker timber I added  1″ X 1″ strips around the perimiter to make it appear as if it’s solid. Once done I carved the ends to look like old weathered timber showing the end grain and for texture gouged the surface.

The scroll was made from one piece and the idea is to look like a scroll of paper. I think curled up like this looks better than just a flat , painted panel.

The painting on the piece drove me nuts! I wanted to achieve a look that didn’t appear as one solid color and have it look new. I also didn’t want a true flesh color. I wanted to have some old layers of paint in the nooks and crannies to indicate age. And , I wanted to see some wood and grain show through. It doesn’t read as well in the photos but it works .

 

 

 

 

 

 

OK,, that’s where I was.

Here are the bolts and some shots of how they went together.

 

 

 

 

Now for the scroll. It’s Basswood, painted in primer here.

 

 

 

 

 

Now on to the rest of it.  Photos I think at this point is all that’s really needed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hope you enjoyed it and found something useful.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dorisfiebig
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 09:44:37

    hi mark, once again, a wonderful work. i can imagine that in this piece the painting job was particularly difficult, as the gluelines from the repairs are big, and they should not be seen later, on the otherhand the painting should be translucent enough to show some of the grain. you achieved that wonderfully. even though we have the before and after images to compare, its hard to put the “finger on” where the repair was made in the final piece. … also love your attention to small detail, like the screws and the thought with the hidden washer behind the wooden carved screw, to give more strength for support. nice 🙂 … have you already delivered the piece ? i am sure the owner will be very happy 🙂

    Reply

  2. markyundt
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 16:56:44

    Yes, the painting drove me nuts. Got a finish I thought was good. Until I walked into the shop the next day , looked at it and said ” That has to go”. So I stripped it and started all over again. I finally hit on a solution that worked. I was walking a line between being painted,, looking old,, not solid,, not translucent,, wood showing through as if it has been worn over time from cleaning or being touched.
    I like your pun of “putting a finger on it” !
    I haven’t delivered the piece yet. As of this entry I’ll be delivering it tomorrow.
    Thanks Doris

    Reply

  3. Beau
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 05:55:25

    Looking forward to seeing more of your beautiful work soon.

    Reply

    • markyundt
      Dec 01, 2012 @ 08:10:41

      Thanks Beau,
      Oh, I’ve been busy, but not with the type of work I like to post.But very soon ( within the next week or so) I’ll have a unique project that will be posted. Stay tuned as it will be interesting. And on the large size.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

