Acanthus leaves

I just started on this project consisting of Acanthus leaves and a Medallion. Unfortunately I don’t have a step by step process but you can see the results of my efforts on this one piece.

It’s the follow up to the Medallion and Acanthus leaves post.

 

 

The starting point carving the right set of leaves. There are two which are mirror images of each other with the medallion in the center.

 

 

This is the left leaf but it shows where I started in the same scenario with the right piece. I just forged ahead with the right one and neglected to photo this part of the sequence. Sorry.

 

 

Here you can see that the very end has been brought very close to being done with just the rough in done  as I moved across the piece going right to left.

 

 

Here is the piece roughed in overall. Here you can see how I follow my credo of carving the forms before carving the details. The details fall within the forms so to me the details aren’t important. Get the piece to “flow” before trying to add details. Details in and of themselves won’t do a thing if you try to carve them too soon.

 

 

before,,,,,,,

 

 

after,,,,,

 

 

Neither of these photos show the finished piece as it will be done along with the other side in order to “unify” them. But as it sits here it is about 90 percent done.

 

 

The left and the right essentially showing beginning and ending points. The center Medallion is currently on my drafting board waiting for a piece of wood.

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dorisfiebig
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 14:53:52

    nice work, mark. and now i see the design carved in wood, i can see that i misjudged the “holes” in the drawing. they are a beautiful addition adding more strength to the flow of the piece. .. i always love looking your acanthus leaves, they flow so easily, no matter what the leaves “are supposed to do” 🙂

    Reply

  2. Doug Duffield
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 17:05:27

    Doris is so right, the leaves do flow so easily. You’re artistic rendition of the line art is beautiful. May I ask for a photo from each end so I can spend some time looking into the edges of the leaves. As I look at the photos, I want to pick up my computer screen and look from the bottom and sides to view the completed form.

    Reply

  3. markyundt
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 17:03:04

    Hello folks! Sorry about the delay but I spent a few days at the shore for a mini vacation before the deluge of work hits! Thanks for the comments about the leaves. I’m sure you realize this isn’t my sketch , I’m just following the general guidelines of what was sent to me. The design was not bad so I pretty much copied it as it was with my own interpretations here and there.
    What are Acanthus leaves supposed to do? Whatever we want them to do, they are that forgiving and that’s the reason I like them so much! And there are so many variations of them as far as how to carve them. Pointed, rounded, blunt, full. And after that you can twist and turn them, crunch them together as if in a fan, spread them out across large areas.
    Doug , these aren’t done at this point. Sure,, I’ll post more photos when the second piece is done along with the Medallion. Until then I believe there are some others I’ve done in the Galleries.
    These are definitely worth learning to carve as they are just so versatile, On the Chair I recently restored they were on the volutes , the back panel as well as the canopy. On furniture you’ll find them scrolling down table and chair legs, pediments, door corners etc. You can find places to carve them on just about any woodworking project. Well , OK,, maybe not on modern furniture etc. but you get the idea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

