Acanthus leaf, Medallion Pediment

Here is a new project that I bid on some time ago that was just approved. It’s a Pediment for the top of a cabinet that will be 5 1/2 ft across, approx 14 inches high ( medallion) .

It’s to be done in Alder, a wood I haven’t carved before. But, it’s my favorite subject, Acanthus leaves. The designer sent me this photo copy of a design they like though they indicated that the Medallion will change. We’ll have to work on a new design for approval of the clients.

Till then it’s something I’m looking forward to doing while I complete the Chair and Cabinet restoration. I’ll have fun with this one. I’ll keep you posted.

 

The overall view,

 

 

The medallion, most likely it’ll change,,,,

 

The side Acanthus leaf designs. These should stay pretty much as you see them. Looks like too much fun to me!

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dorisfiebig
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 21:59:56

    hi mark, that truely looks like a fun project… 🙂 … i wonder about the line of holes in the acanthus leaves. i guess they are meant to mirror the theme “lines of holes” in the medallion to unify the composition. to me, they disturb the flow of the leaves… i know you are not free to design, but you said, design will change, so i feeled like is maybe worth mentioning it.

    Reply

  2. markyundt
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 01:06:27

    Hi Doris,
    Yes, it will be a fun project. Rather straight forward but fun none the less.
    As far as the “holes” they are as I’m sure you know, just shallow gouge marks. They thought of many things to do to embellish carvings as this is something I’ve seen many times before in a number of carvings as well as applications on the sweeping curves of the acanthus leaves. It doesn’t really bother me for some reason, probably because I know it has some precedent.
    I guess today you’d call it “bling”. Add a bit more in any empty space to add a little more pizzaz! I can live with it.

    Reply

  3. dorisfiebig
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 09:05:19

    yes, maybe it looks “deeper” in the drawing, than it will look when carved. i am looking forward to see how it turns out, i know you really have the feeling for those leaves 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

