Restorations,6, Finished

I have it finished. Well, I might add another coat of sealer,,but that won’t change how it essentially looks at this point. You can see the results.

I used an oil finish. I also cleaned the iron accent pieces and coated them with a few coats of flat sealer to help prevent oxidation and the damage that can cause. I’ll also have to adjust the color on one of the inserts I made as the oil finish changed the color it had. I just have to make it blend a bit better.

It took me one week to do this job. I’m quite happy with it. Now to see what the client thinks and on to the Presiding Chair.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dorisfiebig
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 20:43:30

    yes, Mark, it turned out really beautiful. and, even though you showed us which parts you repaired, and recarved, i cannot spot the places exactly on the piece. i know the area where to look, but really say “this is new” i cannot. well done, i love the result… the fotos show the wood in different colors, i know that comes from different lightning condition from different angles. but what is the true color, is it like the warm reddisch hue from the first foto ?

    Reply

  2. Ralph Giarnella MD
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 22:02:00

    Thank you for your very informative photo essay- it is not only interesting but educational-

    Reply

  3. markyundt
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 00:04:38

    Ralph, thank you! Glad you found it interesting as well as educational. I’d call that a win.

    Doris,thank you as well. Truthfully,, there are just a couple of areas I’ll address a bit more. I can adjust the colors of the patches where the final finish changed them a little. Then again, maybe that could be part of it’s charm. Some damage over the years and someone took care of them. Really though, I want them to disappear as much as possible.
    As far as the actual color ( and how your monitor might read it) on mine, the color is closest to the first and 6th photos. It’s a warm brown,,with as you say a hint of “red”,,, a color I wish I could duplicate on other pieces. Ah, nothing like aged wood to give you a color that is just perfect! I’ll have to work on that one to try and duplicate it. IF I could it would make some of my pieces look aged, while being new. To me , that would be the ultimate statement of a finished piece.
    Thank you both for your kind words , and I’m glad you found it interesting.
    That is another win in my book!

    Reply

  4. Eugene Sell Jr.
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 01:11:33

    Mark-

    Incredible work! As having seen this piece in its previous and tragically crude condition— you have given it new life! In restoration- the signature of an authentic craftsman’s work should be to make it look as if he was never there to begin with. I think you properly balanced out what needed to be touched up and repaired and what needed to be left alone. Love the overall patina. Unfortunately, it’s extremely difficult to photograph wood- you need to see this piece in person to really appreciate its beauty!

    I’m sure your client will be pleased! Best regards.

    Reply

  5. dorisfiebig
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 08:37:04

    ah, yes, Mark that first one foto, yes that is truely lovely wood color… aged wood is so beautiful, full of character gained over the years. no wonder it is so hard to duplicate that… but trying is always worth it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

