Putting this knowledge base to use – part 2

You were right, Doris, there is plenty of wood left under the chisel and I needed it to correct the fold. I tried to practice ‘Learning to see’ by using a towel and looking at the fold and what it was doing. I should have just looked more closely at your carving, Mark. You are right on as to the problem with the bottom of the veil. If I would have folded the towel without a corner showing, the fold line would have taken off in a tangent line upwards under the ‘top’ fold. I corrected the line and tried to exaggerate the ‘S’. There was plenty of wood left to do this. I also changed the way the bottom fold exits by continuing the radius of the bottom fold. I had to shorten a few lines, but I think I’ve got the right approach. Looking at the fold, it is a double ‘S’ – the line of the veil coming from the top of the head going down and the ‘S’ from the top of the fold coincide during the fold. If I’d have ‘listened’ to what you and Doris have published … but I didn’t see it without your input. Next time …. Oh, by the way, it was much easier to carve the fold this way. Evidently carving and mathematics go well together!

I like the balloon analogy and can really relate to it. I’ve worked a lot in ratios, but the balloon makes it seem so simple. I totally agree with the way levels are in carving, especially in this one. There is a continual change from one level to the next, and everything is proportionally distributed.

I like the way you have shaped the head of the mother so that even without facial details, it is very apparent that she is looking directly at the child. I believe that some of this comes from the shape of the veil around the head, or am I reading something into this I shouldn’t?

I’m still removing wood and am working toward the proper depth ratios. I believe that I need to take the body of the child down a little. It’s hard to cut this without splintering and splitting the wood. It’s almost like scraping with the chisel. Push, rotate and lift all at the same time. (I need to do some sharpening on the 2/5, this wood must have some silica in it.) This photo shows the relative depth of the carving.

Go to page : 1 2 3

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dorisfiebig
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 23:40:07

    hi doug, there is already so much improvement in your carving,,, do you notice how much better it reads already simply because you did dare to carve deeper … it puts emphasis on the perspective, the relations of the shapes to each other, we can understand the whole much better now … you can still push further, and i know you are doing that. …oh, yes, marks mother is looking at her child, i see it this way too, and i am sure you can find out why we see it this way 😉 and then put it to use for your own carving… is it not fun, to explore this new world, with realising what one really can see,,, oh, ahm, yes, mathematics and carving,,,that is a great partnership 🙂 …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

